Lake County Schools is gearing up to welcome a new group of exceptional alumni into the Lake County Schools Alumni Hall of Fame. The nominees have been narrowed down to 10 finalists, five of whom will be inducted at the ceremony dinner Monday, Oct. 30, 2017, at Mission Inn Resort. Tickets may be purchased at

The Lake County Schools Alumni Hall of Fame was established in 2016 to honor alumni who have built on what they learned in our schools and distinguished themselves through outstanding personal and professional accomplishments. At Lake County Schools we work to ensure that all of our students will graduate with the skills needed to succeed in post-secondary education and the workplace. We take pride in their success.

Meet the 2017-2018 finalists for induction into the Lake County Schools Alumni Hall of Fame: 

  • Kim Rester Sams is a 1975 graduate of Clermont High School. She founded the Disney Conservation Fund in 1995 and currently leads global philanthropic efforts for The Walt Disney Company.
  • M. Ryan Williams is a 1999 graduate of South Lake High School. He is an attorney and community advocate for women and minorities.
  • Angela David is a 1989 graduate of Mount Dora High School and former federal Agent for the Department of Defense. Ms. David lost a battle with cancer in 2000.
  • Brittany Scott Beall is a 2004 graduate of Mount Dora High School. She is an educator and girls’ softball coach and is a sponsor for the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.
  • Charles Edd Holder is a 1965 graduate of Tavares High School. He has dedicated his professional life to creating and sustaining jobs for Florida residents since the 1970s.
  • Don Buckner is a local entrepreneur. He is the owner of Vac-Tron Equipment. He graduated from Tavares High School in 1980.
  • Rear Admiral Jeffrey Scott Jones is a 1974 graduate of Leesburg High School. Following high school he became an officer in the United States Navy where he served in surface warfare. He has received multiple military and personal achievement awards.
  • Michael E. Smith is an educator and author. He graduated from Leesburg High School in 1983.
  • Michele Rigby Assad is a 1991 graduate of Tavares High School.  She is an author and a former CIA agent. She specialized in counterterrorism and counterintelligence.
  • Timothy W. Green is a 1977 graduate of Umatilla High School. He is the owner of Green Consulting Group Inc. and is an active participant in various educational community initiatives.