By Ms. Marca Hoyle, MVA Upper School Social Studies Teacher

Last weekend the Model UN team traveled to the University of Florida to compete at the GatorMUN conference. Nineteen of our EagleMUN delegates participated in mock diplomacy in three types of committees. General Assembly committees are the traditional format where students represent countries in mock UN sessions. Specialized committees involve unique scenarios or political organizations beyond the scope of the United Nations. Finally, crisis committees are fast-paced and challenging committees that require students to respond to a constantly evolving political or historical crisis.

Congratulations to the following students on winning awards at this large and highly competitive conference:

  • Falysha Belvu won Outstanding Delegate (second) in the crisis committee “Yes, It’s the Napoleonic Wars” as Guillaume Brune.
  • Quinn Fitzpatrick received a Verbal Commendation (third) in the crisis committee “Yes, It’s the Napoleonic Wars” as Jean-Mathieu-Philibert Serurier.
  • Zoha Bajwa received a Verbal Commendation (third) in the crisis committee “Nissan Board of Directors” as Steve Wozniak.
  • Camila Areinamo won Best Position Paper as the representative of Thailand for the United Nations Human Rights Council committee. This award goes to the best policy paper submitted at the start of the conference to each General Assembly committee.
Previous articleClermont Woman’s Club Receives 8 Awards
Next articleHabitat For Humanity Of Lake-Sumter Calls On Florida Congressional Members To Take Action On The Affordable Housing Crisis.