During its Sixty-Ninth Commencement Ceremonies, Lake-Sumter State College (LSSC) awarded State Senator Dennis A. Baxley an honorary Bachelor of Leadership degree in recognition of his exemplary service to the citizens of Florida.

During the ceremony, President Heather Bigard and Trustees Bret Jones and Emily Lee presented Senator Baxley with a hood for his ceremonial regalia and a diploma in acknowledgment of this honor. The Senator’s humble and influential style serves as an example for LSSC’s students.

“We are proud to recognize Senator Baxley’s unwavering dedication and outstanding contributions to our great state of Florida,” said President Bigard. “Senator Baxley has left an enduring mark on our community, and we believe that this recognition affirms your legacy of advocacy and unwavering dedication to our community and this state.”

An honorary degree is a rare and significant honor that recognizes an individual who has made a profound and lasting contribution to the College, their profession, and the people of Florida.

Senator Baxley was elected to the State House of Representatives from 2000 to 2007 and again from 2010 to 2016. In 2016, he was elected to the Florida Senate serving District 13 which includes Lake County and West Orange County.

For this most recent term, he served as President Pro Tempore under President Kathleen Passidomo. In the 179-year history of the State of Florida, he is the only person to serve as the Speaker Pro Tempore of the Florida House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Florida Senate.

Senator Baxley has chosen to retire from elected office at the end of this current term.

Previous articleMontverde Academy Middle School Engineering Event
Next articlePlanting Knowledge in the Community: May 2024 Plant for Cooper Memorial Library And Clermont City Hall