Tom and Gloria Moore are costume winners of the Mardi Gras celebration.

Beta Theta is a chapter of Epsilon Sigma Alpha International (ESA), a leadership and service organization that brings people together to make a difference.

Since 1979, Beta Theta has been holding fundraisers and distributing all the proceeds to charitable organizations and local high school scholarships throughout the South Lake community.

Beta Theta celebrated its 14th Annual Mardi Gras Celebration on Saturday, February 10th at Clermont Performing Arts Center. The fundraiser was a tremendous success.

The success of the event would not have been possible without the assistance of Mardi Gras sponsors and supporters:

Rex Sponsor

  • Tony Hubbard Realty

Platinum Sponsor

  • Janice and Tom Senninger

Gold Sponsor

  • Moherek Fishing Team

Silver Sponsors

  • Ann Whitlock
  • Becker Funeral Home
  • Ford of Clermont
  • The Golden Family
  • Sandy Martin

Jewel Sponsors

  • Clermont Brewing Co
  • Marcia and John Moore
  • State Farm, Michael Mowdy

Crown Patrons

  • American Leak Detector
  • Bella Bella Dental Group
  • Byron and Nancy Carter
  • Jim H. Eshelman, Ameriprise
  • Tommy Moore – POCC  (Priority One Community Center)
  • Pauline Wallace
  • Robin and Tom Crawford
  • Sally and Terry Tiley
  • Stacy Consulting
  • Sean Parks Campaign
  • Sports Medicine Institute – Dr. David Lucas
  • United Southern Bank

Emerald Donors

  • Carroll Dickerson
  • Pix Synergy Fine Art Photography
  • Fine Art Appraisal by Janet Smith
  • Jay Abbey
  • Kathy Henderson
  • Sea World/Aquatica
  • Lake Sumter State College Foundation
  • Pennachio Eye Care
  • Pittman Jewelers
  • Unique Treasures by Debbie Stillman
  • Village Goldsmith

Doubloon Patrons

  • Rene and Cory Ward
  • West DeSoto Street Offices, LLC


  • Clermont Florist
  • Diann Lovette
  • Florida Farm Distillers
  • Fl. Lakes Symphony Orchestra
  • Great Clips
  • Herb Shoppe & Day Spa
  • Judee Golden
  • Just My Style
  • Office Depot
  • Outback Steakhouse
  • Red Lobster
  • Ruby Tuesday
  • Sonny’s Barbeque
  • San Jose’s Original Mexican Restaurant
  • Curt Ulch Simply Glass

Media Sponsors

  • The News Leader


Not Just Dance
  • Windy Hill Middle School Band
  • Not Just Dance (Rosemary DeMott)
  • East Ridge High School Performers
  • In A Chord, Sisters of Sound
  • Tim Hargis
Windy Hill Middle School

The Warmest Thank You is extended to

  • Oakwood Smokehouse Grill (Eric Eyerly) and
  • Designs by Sandra (table décor)
Bonnie McGuire

Within the past two years, Beta Theta has lost two of its vibrant members: charter member Ann Dupee, and long-time member Bonnie McGuire. Last year’s Mardi Gras was dedicated to Ann Dupee and this year’s celebration to Bonnie McGuire both deeply missed.


Women of Beta Theta

Ann Dupee

Toni Bell, Michelle Delaney, Lisa Graham, Lucy Hage, Janet Hawkins, Barbara Henry, Donna Kidder, Joan Kyle, Eleanor Lofgren, Diann Lovette, Suzanne McClure, Betty Meadows, Terry Moherek, Pat Moore, Janice Senninger, Rosetta Shobe, Sandie Stacy, Jackie Ulch, and Ann Whitlock.

Men of Beta Theta

Bill Delaney, Bill Graham, Steve Hage, Dave Hawkins, Roger Henry, Mel Kyle, Dave Lofgren, Charlie Lovette, Larry McClure, Skip McGuire, Tom Moore, Dave Peck, Tom Senninger, Bob Shobe, Larry Rescoe, and Irv Stacy.

Previous articleGroveland City Council Dominoes Fall Into Place
Next articleLake Minneola High School Sports – Week in Review